Just don’t tell ’em it’s raw.

I am a firm believer in wishing on 11:11. Just about every time I’ve closed my eyes and mentally made one with a smile, the universe makes it true. But third times the charm hasn’t always swayed in my favor. No matter the goal, my visualized hope never meets my standard. This Summer seems to be the gamechanger for clichés however, especially in the kitchen.

My go to guinea pigs for culinary firsts happen to be my parents who never will shy away from a voluntarily cooked dinner, but still respectively provide constructive feedback most recently on this particular creation. I’ll be the first to admit not every dish works, but that’s when practice makes perfect right?

All clichés aside, the third time using David & Luise’s minds as inspiration, my hands quickly recognized the ingredients and motions to making the raw food cake, leaving my mind open to alterations. The recipe itself doesn’t need much change aside from a few items outside my college budget, but with endeavors to constantly perfect my kitchen craft, a peak inside our pantry always welcomes imaginative possibilities.

The first time around whipping out the food processor, Screenshot 2014-06-04 18.55.05I had just arrived back to the States after a five month stay in Limerick, Ireland. Leaving the five international roommates and friends I had become inseparable from was the most emotionally draining experience I have ever encountered, so distractions were in high demand. Luckily, the comfort and control of food were there for me along with ingredients inaccessible to the Emerald Isle. Cooking quickly became my routine.

Though the cake has four powerfully infused layers, my creative strings were being tugged hard begging to affect the result. I may have arrived in Ireland with two suitcases and a fully stocked backpack, but in Annie Green fashion, California welcomed my additional suitcase majorly stocked with European foodie finds[you have to figure you won’t be near these brands anytime soon so why not?]. Alpro Hazelnut milk, Bulmers Hard Cider made it through customs and a Scottish jar of Ginger preserves perfect for another spread layer on these bars. The result was indeed a hit, but

Second time around was a success receiving a thumbs up from some of my biggest [friendly] critics, but definitely could have used some adjustments as well. All in good fun [I hope], my two sorority sisters love to laugh at my descriptive words for my makings, yet to prove the worth of my vegetarian cuisine, I invited them over to dine on my cuisine. Pleasantly surprised by the array of tastebuds hit from one bite, they applauded my inspired bars, but I knew there was still something that could have wowed them even more.

Now noting over a year has passed since first discovering this creation, I guess you could say it has become a go-to recipe when in need of a flavorful energizing bite. Four layers of uplifting blends providing indulgence without the often ensued guilt.

IMG_0955Fusing roasted pistachios and raisins as the defining bottom, there is no going wrong with sweet & salty.

 

Dates, nature’s candy as many like to label them are transformed into a fudge like texture simply by adding several heaps of cocoa in the next sheet. IMG_0948

IMG_0949Fresh spinach gives the third level its characteristically ‘healthy’ green color when swirled together with unsweetened coconut, banana, fresh mint, avocado, and a hint of sweetness from agave nectar, and in the first impression top, I almost didn’t have enough to spread.

IMG_0957 Its addictively smooth surface is no joke combining avocado, cocoa, banana, and several shakes of ground ginger & cinnamon. You can’t say I didn’t warn you.

You may be thinking to yourself, Wow, there’s quite a lot going on in this one dessert…and it’s raw? No worries, I thought the same thing but have since benefitted significantly from the compliments and consumption my system has received. As I continue to savor, or in all honesty stuff myself with its goodness, I hope you will share in this edible bliss.

 

Raw super-infused chocolate cake
Serves 8-10

IMG_0953

 

Pistachio crust

1 cup natural pistachios
1/3 cup yellow raisins
2,5 tblsp water
1 small pinch of Himalayan salt

1. Crush the pistachios in a food processor and add salt
2. Blend raisins and water into a paste and stir down the pistachios.
3. in a 9″ by 9″ pan, press the paste onto the bottom of the pan, and put into the freezer.

Chocolate fudge layer
2 cup Hadley dates, chopped & pitted
8 tblsp raw cacao (or regular organic cacao)
1/4 cup cacao nibs (optional)
1 ts. ground cinnamon

1. Put all ingredients in a food processor and mix until a dough-like consistency.
2. Press the fudge into one of the squares and let it rest in the fridge.

IMG_0952

Super-infused mint layer
2.5 cup shredded unsweetened coconut(get find at Whole Foods, or Red Mills at health food stores)
1 handful fresh spinach, juiced
10 drops of peppermint essence

2 ts. fresh mint, minced

2 tsp agave nectar

2 bananas

1 tblsp vanilla extract

1. Make coconut flour by grinding the shredded coconut in a coffee grinder or food processor.
2. Get the juice out of the spinach by juicing them or chop them finely and press out the juice.
3. Mix all ingredients in a bowl until well incorporated and beautifully green.
4. Press into a square on one of the baking sheets and freeze.

Frosting
1 cup avocado (2 medium sized)
1 banana
8 heaping tblsp raw cacao (or regular organic cacao)
1/2 tsp pure chocolate protein powder
1/2 cup chopped & pitted dates

1 ts. vanilla extract

1 ts. ground pepper

1. Peel the avocado and banana and add all the ingredients to a food processor. Blend until a mousse-like consistency. Ps. Try not to eat it all…
2. Put the frosting in a bowl and refrigerate for at least 15 minutes.

IMG_0956

Arrange
Put the layers on top of one another and spread the frosting evenly on top of the mint layer. Dust with some raw cacao and cinnamon.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

